Seung-Schik Yoo, PhD, MBA, director of the Neuromodulation and Tissue Engineering Laboratory (NTEL) at Brigham and Women's Hospital, will receive the 2018 Ferenc Jolesz Memorial Award at the 6th International Symposium on Focused Ultrasound. The award was established in 2016 to honor the life of Ferenc Jolesz, a true pioneer in focused ultrasound. It is intended to recognize and encourage this same innovative spirit in mid-career researchers and clinicians who continue to advance focused ultrasound. 

In addition to his appointment at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Dr. Yoo is an associate professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School and serves as a faculty member of Mind Brain Behavior at Harvard University. 

His early pioneering work involved developing real-time functional MR-imaging to interpret the human mind and applying the technology to interface the brain function with machines and computers. Dr. Yoo’s current research is exploring a new mode of non-invasive brain stimulation modality utilizing focused ultrasound to control regional neural functions, including the activity of the brain. He is primarily interested in advancing the technique for various neurotherapeutics, but also likes to seek out new ways to link thoughts/brain processes between individuals. 

“On behalf of all the splendid researchers that I have worked with, I am deeply honored to receive the recognition,” says Yoo. “I would like to thank the inspirations and encouragement that I have received from my mentors, Drs. Tempany, Panych, and Jolesz. I would like to express my gratitude to Drs. Seltzer and Boland who provided us with vibrant research environment, and thank the Foundation and Insightec for the award.” 

Dr. Yoo will be acknowledged during the Symposium’s Welcome Reception. He will deliver a presentation on his research on Monday, October 22. He also receives up to $5,000 toward Symposium registration, travel, and lodging expenses and a $5,000 cash award. The award is supported by Insightec.

The 6th International Symposium on Focused Ultrasound will take place October 21-25, 2018, at the Hyatt Regency in Reston, Virginia.

Previous Visionary Award recipient have included Kullervo Hynynen, PhD (2016) and Motti Zisser (2014).