Visionary Award

The Focused Ultrasound Foundation gives this award every two years at the Symposium to recognize an individual who has created a larger vision for what the future of focused ultrasound may hold and whose effort, passion, and persistence have been crucial to advancing the field.

Lawrence A. Crum, PhD, was the recipient of the 2020 Visionary Award. Read the announcement >

Young Investigator Awards

The Focused Ultrasound Foundation established the Young Investigator Awards Program to encourage quality research by clinicians and scientists-in-training and to support their presentation of meritorious scientific papers at major venues such as the International Symposium on Focused Ultrasound.

Graduate students, research fellows, clinical fellows and junior faculty members are eligible to apply for the awards, which - due to the transition to a virtual meeting in 2020 - was a $1,000 cash award. 

Congratulations to our nine 2020 Young Investigators. Meet the recipients >  


Ferenc Jolesz Memorial Award

Now in its third year, the Ferenc Jolesz Memorial Award has a two-fold purpose: to honor the memory of Ferenc Jolesz, a world-class visionary with a passion for pushing surgery into the 21st century and a pioneer of focused ultrasound as a non-invasive therapy, and to recognize and encourage this same innovative spirit in mid-career researchers and clinicians who continue to advance focused ultrasound.

Nir Lipsman, MD, PhD, FRCSC, was the recipient of the 2020 Ferenc Jolesz Memorial Award. Read the announcement >